British Grand Prix

England is synonymous with Formula 1 racing, with British drivers such as Nigel Mansell, Jim Clark and Stirling Moss standing among the sport’s elite. So it’s little wonder that the British Grand Prix at Silverstone is one of the highlights of the Formula 1 season. However, local fans haven’t had much to cheer about in recent years as the last British driver to win on his home soil was Lewis Hamilton in 2008. Heading into the 2013 British Grand Prix, British fans will be pulling for Hamilton or Jenson Button to reverse this trend but it is highly unlikely for any McLaren car to do well this season.

Either way, the British GP is one of the entertaining events at the half way point of the season as British fans eat up this race.

Countdown for the British Grand Prix
[fergcorp_cdt_single date="June 30 2013"]

bet365 sportsbook

In 2011 it was Fernando Alonso who continued the recent run of foreign drivers winning the British Grand Prix. The Spaniard captured his first win of the season and the first win of 2011 for Ferrari at Silverstone after coming up from the second row. On paper, it looked as though the Red Bull cars of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber were poised to dominate after starting in the first two spots. Vettel had the early lead but a problem in the pits dropped him back in the pack. He would finish the race in second just ahead of his teammate Webber, who ignored team orders to attempt a last-lap pass.

One of the drivers who received plenty of attention ahead of the 2011 British Grand Prix was Lewis Hamilton and the British driver provided plenty of drama during the race. He ran off-course in the warm-up lap under rainy conditions but was able to use a fast start to pick up plenty of ground early. He climbed to second but fell back to fourth, barely holding off his rival Felipe Massa after the two made contact near the finish line.

Hamilton’s teammate and fellow Brit Button continued his struggles in his home race last season, dropping out after losing a lug nut following a pit stop problem. Both he and Hamilton will be looking to reverse their fortunes and bring the home fans something to celebrate in 2012.

Circuit Information

Number of Laps: 52
Circuit Length: 5.891 km
Race distance: 306.198 km

1:30.874: Fernando Alonso (2010)

Recommended sportsbooks to bet on the British Grand Prix

Bet365 for UK, Europe, Asia and rest of world

bet365 sportsbook